Revealed: the members of the GSMA Board

Do you know anyone on the list?
GSMA, Business, Leadership, Tech, Society, Telecommunications, Middle East, Technology


Several Middle East and African executives have been named as operator representatives to the GSMA Board.

The GSMA announced on November 12 that it had elected new members of the GSMA Board for the two-year period from January 2019 through December 2020. The GSMA Board has also elected Stéphane Richard, chairperson and CEO of Orange Group as chair, and Chua Sock Koong, group CEO of Singtel Group as deputy chair. Eng. Nasser Al Nasser, chair of the board of directors of SAMENA Telecommunications Council and GCEO of Saudi Telecom Company, is among the newly elected members of the GSMA Board.

The GSMA Board has 26 members, including 25 operator representatives from the world’s largest operator groups as well as smaller, independent operators with global representation. The GSMA’s Director General Mats Granryd also serves on the GSMA Board.

The GSMA Board for the 2019-2020 term comprises:

• Juan Carlos Archila, Executive Vice President of International Relationships, América Móvil
• Susan Johnson, Executive Vice President, Global Connections and Supply Chain, AT&T
• Jamaludin bin Ibrahim, Managing Director/President and Group Chief Executive Officer, Axiata Group Berhad
• Gopal Vittal, Chief Executive Officer, Bharti Airtel
• Dr. Li Zhengmao, Executive Vice President, China Mobile
• Liu Guiqing, Executive Vice President, China Telecom
• Dr. Shao Guanglu, Executive Vice President, China Unicom
• Srini Gopalan, Member of the Board of Management, Deutsche Telekom
• Hatem Dowidar, Chief Executive Officer, International, Etisalat Group
• Mats Granryd, Director General, GSMA
• Christian Salbaing, Deputy Chairman, Europe, Hutchison
• Rob Shuter, Group President and Chief Executive Officer, MTN Group
• Alexey Kornya, President and Chief Executive Officer, MTS
• Kazuhiro Yoshizawa, President and Chief Executive Officer, NTT DOCOMO
• Stéphane Richard, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Orange Group
• Mathew Oommen, President and Member of the Board of Directors, Reliance Jio
• Chua Sock Koong, Group Chief Executive Officer, Singtel Group
• Jung Ho Park, President and Chief Executive Officer, SK Telecom
• Marcelo Claure, Chief Operating Officer, SoftBank Group
• Eng. Nasser S Al Nasser, Chief Executive Officer, STC Group
• Julio Linares López, Member of the Board of Telefónica Companies, Telefónica
• Sigve Brekke, President and Chief Executive Officer, Telenor Group
• Andrew Penn, Chief Executive Officer, Telstra
• Kaan Terzioğlu, Chief Executive Officer, Turkcell
• Rima Qureshi, Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Verizon
• Vivek Badrinath, Chief Executive for the Africa, Middle East and Asia-Pacific Region, Vodafone Group

Editor's Choice

Meet Dr Moudhi Aljamea, STC's first female executive
First female executive at the Saudi telco.
First Women's Council for telco industry in UAE launched by du
EITC Women's Council will enhance overall performance, participation and wellness of female employees, while also promoting tolerance and inclusion.
VIDEO: CommsMEA interviews Sophia the robot
CommsMEA editor Ben Mack speaks with Sophia, the social humanoid robot, at Etisalat's stand at GITEX 2018.

Most popular

Don't Miss a Story